Dive 05: “Sally” Seamount

This dive will take place on an unexplored feature we have dubbed “Sally” Seamount. ROV Deep Discoverer will begin the dive at about 8:30 AM, HST (2:30 PM, EDT) at a depth of approximately 2180 meters (~7150 feet). The dive track will be along on the north side ride of a guyot-like feature with radiating arms whose plateau is at approximately 2040 meters (~6,690 feet) depth. The primary objective for this dive is to characterize the distribution and abundance of benthic fauna, in particular, corals and sponges. We will conduct a mid-water transect at approximately 4 PM, HST (10 PM, EDT). For more information about this expedition, go to:

http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/okeanos/explorations/ex1706/welcome.html

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s